Title of Rule: Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Base Wage
Requirement for Direct Care Workers, Section 8.511

Rule Number: MSB 21-08-05-A

Division / Contact / Phone: Benefits & Services Management / Erin Thatcher / 303-866-5788

STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

1. Summary of the basis and purpose for the rule or rule change. (State what the rule says or

does and explain why the rule or rule change is necessary).

The rule requires all Direct Care Workers to receive a minimum base wage of $15 per hour for
services named within and effective January 1, 2022. The rule requires providers to notice
eligible staff and provide required reporting. The purpose of this rule is to enforce the base wage
requirement, enforce provider reporting responsibilities, and utilize the unique funding
opportunity of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) to increase and bolster the direct care
workforce. Colorado is one of the nation’s fastest aging states, 70% of older adults will need
long-term care, and they increasingly seek Home and Community-Based services. The need for
workers has been outpacing the supply for many years. Additionally, impacts of the COVID-19
pandemic on the direct care workforce has highlighted that these workers bear great health and
safety risks while earning some of the state’s lowest wages. Colorado will continue to lose
necessary workers and fail to adequately recruit new workers if it does not raise wages to align
with the value and importance of these workers’ critical services.

. An emergency rule-making is imperatively necessary

[ ] to comply with state or federal law or federal regulation and/or
[X] for the preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Explain:

An emergency rule is imperative because the Department has state and federal approval to use
ARPA funding to increase Direct Care Worker wages as of January 1, 2022 and needs to ensure
that it is implemented correctly and efficiently. Waiting until a later date to establish this rule
would further strain these workers who are, and have been, persisting on less than a living wage
and contribute to less accessible HCBS for community members. Without this rule to support
bolstering the direct care workforce, members will not receive critical care and will face greater
health and safety risks. Additionally, the Department seeks to immediately align with Governor
Polis's directive for a base wage of $15 per hour per press release "Colorado Increasing the
Minimum Wage for Workers" issued September 21, 2021.

3. Federal authority for the Rule, if any:

4, State Authority for the Rule:

Initial Review Final Adoption
Proposed Effective Date 01/01/2022 Emergency Adoption 12/10/2021
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REGULATORY ANALYSIS

1. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including
classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit
from the proposed rule.

Direct Care Workers are the most impacted by this proposed rule. They will benefit from
an increased base wage, which will promote stability for the workers themselves, HCBS
providers and members receiving services. The Department has increased
reimbursement rates to offset costs to HCBS provider agencies in implementation of this
rule. Provider agencies and Department staff will be impacted in the effort to implement
and monitor compliance with this rule.

2. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact
of the proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons.

Probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the proposed rule upon Direct Care
Workers include reducing the financial gap between current hourly median wage
and hourly wage needed to achieve adequate economic security, enabling workers
to forgo second or third jobs to earn additional wages, and increasing community
awareness for the impact and importance of these workers. HCBS provider agencies
will be more likely to retain current staff and become more competitive in their
recruitment, will better meet service needs of their members, and may experience
their local communities seeking their services. HCBS providers may incur penalties
and recoupment if they do not comply with the necessary reporting requirements of
this rule as these requirements are intended to ensure providers are equally
committed to supporting and growing their direct care workforce.

3. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the
implementation and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on
state revenues.

The Department will utilize funding authorized through ARPA to fund the associated
rate increases and complete the auditing requirements needed for the
implementation of this rule. No additional budgetary impact is expected from the
implementation of this rule.

4. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs
and benefits of inaction.
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The Department received authority from the state and federal government to
mitigate the growing crisis impacting the direct care workforce utilizing ARPA funds.
Increasing workers’ base wage will improve retention and recruitment in this field
and better meet the needs of HCBS members. Providers are receiving a rate
increase to offset the cost of the base wage and are only required to provide
minimal administrative processing and reporting to ensure the base wage is
implemented correctly. If we do not implement this, our members will be at risk of
decompensation and institutionalization. HCBS providers rely on a steady and
qualified population of workers to serve a diverse community of members in
community settings. If a provider is unable to hire and retain qualified staff,
members will go without the necessary services that enable them to live
independently. As the pandemic continues, we must ensure that members are able
to avoid hospitalization due to gaps in care and access to care.

5. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for
achieving the purpose of the proposed rule.

There are no less costly solutions to achieve the purpose of this proposed rule.

6. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule
that were seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were
rejected in favor of the proposed rule.

This rule is needed to ensure that the funding is allocated per the Department’s
approved ARPA spending plan. Reimbursement rates have been increased to offset
provider costs associated with the base wage, and providers must report their
compliance with funding parameters. There is no other way to achieve purpose of this
rule outside of implementing a rule.
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8.511 BASE WAGE REQUIREMENT FOR DIRECT CARE WORKERS

8.511.1 DEFINITIONS

Definitions below only apply to Section 8.511.

A.

Base Wage means the minimum hourly rate of pay of a Direct Care Worker for the provision of

Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS). For the purposes of this rule, the base wage
shall be $15.00 effective January 1, 2022.

Department means the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, the single

State Medicaid agency.

Direct Care Worker means a non-administrative employee or independent contractor of a

Provider Agency or Participant Directed Program Employer of Record who provides hands-on
care, services, and support to older adults and individuals with disabilities across the long-term
services and supports continuum within home and community-based settings.

Minimum Wage means the rate of pay established in accordance with Section 15 of Article XVIII

of the State Constitution and any other minimum wage established by federal or local laws or
requlations. In addition to state wage requirements, federal or local laws or regulations may apply
minimum, overtime, or other wage requirements to some or all Colorado employers and
employees. If an employee is covered by multiple minimum or overtime wage requirements, the
requirement providing a higher wage, or otherwise setting a higher standard, shall apply.

Plan of Correction means a formal, written response from a provider agency to the Department

on identified areas of non-compliance with requirements listed in Section 8.511.4.

Participant Directed Program means a service model that provides participants who are eligible

for Home and Community-Based Services the ability to manage their own in-home care, or have
care managed by an authorized representative, provided by a direct care worker. Participant
Directed Program participants, or their authorized representative, operate as Employers of
Record with an established FEIN.

Provider means any person, public or private institution, agency, or business enrolled under the

state Medical Assistance program to provide medical care, services, or goods and holding, where
applicable, a current valid license or certificate to provide such services or to dispense such
goods. Pursuant to this rule, a provider that renders qualifying service(s) accepts responsibility to
ensure qualifying Direct Care Workers currently under their employment are paid, at a minimum,

the base wage.

Per Diem wage means daily rate of pay for Direct Care Workers for the provision of Home and

Community-Based Services (HCBS). For purposes of this rule, the per diem wage shall apply to
Direct Care Workers of residential service providers.

8.511.2 QUALIFYING SERVICES

A.

Effective January 1, 2022, the Department will increase reimbursement rates for select Home and

Community-Based Services. Providers must use this increased funding to ensure all Direct Care
Workers are paid the base wage or higher. Services requiring Direct Care Workers to be paid at
least the base wage are as follows:

1. Adult Day Services
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2. Alternative Care Facility (ACF)
3. Community Connector
4. Consumer Directed Attendant Support Services (CDASS)
5. Group Residential Support Services (GRSS)
6. Homemaker
7. Homemaker Enhanced
8. In-Home Support Services (IHSS)
9. Individual Residential Support Services (IRSS)
10. Job Coaching
11. Job Development
12. Mentorship
13. Personal Care
14. Prevocational Services
15. Respite
16. Specialized Habilitation
17. Supported Community Connections
18. Supported Living Program
B. In the event that a Direct Care Worker, based on state or local minimum wage laws, is eligible for
a minimum wage that exceeds the base wage requirement, the Provider is required to
compensate at the higher wage.
C. In the event that a Direct Care Worker is eligible for a per diem wage, the Provider is required to

increase the Direct Care Worker’s per diem wage effective January 1, 2022 by the percent of the

Department’s January 1, 2022 reimbursement rate increase.

8.511.3 PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES

A. The Provider must ensure that contact information on file with the Department is accurate;
information shall be utilized by the Department to complete oversight responsibilities per Section
8.511.4.

B. Providers shall notify Direct Care Workers who are affected by the base wage requirement each

fiscal year up to and including Fiscal Year 2023-2024.

1.

Provider shall utilize the Department provided letter.
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Providers shall publish and make readily available the Department’s designated contact for Direct

Care Workers to submit questions, concerns or complaints regarding the base wage requirement.

On or before June 30, 2022 and June 30, 2023, providers shall attest to the Department that all

Direct Care Workers receive at a minimum the required base wage or per diem wage increase.

1.

Providers with Direct Care Workers eligible for the base wage must attest that the base

wage has been applied. The attestation must include information regarding all eligible

Direct Care Workers to include but not limited to:

a. Full-time or part-time employment status.

b. Whether the Direct Care Worker is an Employee or Independent Contractor.

C. Employee start date if after January 1, 2022.

d. Direct Care Workers’ hourly base wage as of November 1, 2021 and current
hourly base wage.

e. Current service(s) provided by each employee.

2. IRSS Providers and/or Providers with Direct Care Workers earning a per diem wage must
attest to the per diem wage increase. The attestation must include information regarding
all eligible Direct Care Workers to include but not limited to:

a. Full-time or part-time employment status.
b. Whether the Direct Care Worker is an Employee or Independent Contractor.
C. Employee start date if after January 1, 2022.
d. Direct Care Workers’ per diem wage as of December 1, 2021 and per diem wage
as of January 1, 2022.
3. CDASS Authorized Representatives/Employers of Record are exempt from attestation

requirements.

Providers shall keep true and accurate records to support and demonstrate that all Direct Care

Workers who performed the listed services within Section 8.511 received at a minimum the base

wage or a per diem wage increase.

Records shall be retained for no less than six (6) years and shall be made available for inspection

by the Department upon request. Records may include, but are not limited to:

1.

Payroll summaries and details

2. Timesheets

3. Paid time off records

4. Cancelled checks (front and back)
5. Direct deposit confirmations
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6. Independent contractor documents or agreements
7. Per diem wage documents
8. Accounting records such as: accounts receivable and accounts payable

8.511.4 REPORTING & AUDITING REQUIREMENTS

A.

The Department has ongoing discretion to request information from providers to demonstrate that

all Direct Care Workers received the wage (base or per diem) increase. All records related to the
base wage requirement received by the Provider for the services listed in Section 8.511.2 shall be
made available to the Department upon request, within specified deadlines.

Providers shall respond to the Department’s request for records to demonstrate compliance

within the timelines and format specified by the Department.

Failure to provide adequate documents and timely responses may result in the Provider being

required to submit a plan of correction and/or recoupment of funds.

If a plan of correction is requested by the Department, the Provider shall have forty-five (45)

business days from the date of the request to respond. The Provider must notify the Department
in writing within five (5) business days of receipt of the request if they will not be able to meet the
deadline. The Provider must explain the rationale for the delay and the Department may or may
not grant an extension in writing.

Upon the Department’s receipt of the plan of correction, the Department will accept, request

modifications, or reject the proposed plan of correction. Modifications or rejections will be
accompanied by a written explanation. If a plan of correction is rejected, the Provider must
resubmit a new plan of correction along with any requested documentation to the Department for
review within five (5) business days of notification.

The Department may recoup part or all of the funding resulting from the base wage increase if the

Department determines the Provider is not in compliance with Section 8.511.

If such determination is made to recoup funds, the Provider will be notified by the Department. All

recoupments will be conducted pursuant to C.R.S. Section 25.5-4-301 and 10 C.C.R. 2505-10,
Section 8.050.6, Informal Reconsideration and Appeals of Overpayments Resulting from Review
or Audit Findings.




